8580 Audio Output..

davotron

Firstly, hello everyone, I'm a newbie here..

Secondly, after much cogitation and listening to the awesome sounds of the elektron sidstation (but being scared away by the price.. ) I decided to build a simple SID + CORE with a minimal control surface and being an electronic engineer I thought "right, it should be straight forward..", but I have run into a couple of problems;

I have built the Core and SID module, and the core is up and running nicely (although I might add I changed the pull up to MCLR to 1k rather than 100R [5mA rather than 50mA I believe flowing out the pin], I found the p18f4585 was getting stuck in a state of constant reset due to a noisy PSU I have, got rid of it though.. and added a reset).  I downloaded MIOS to the core easily and the LCD gave me sensible characters, and I get midi comms and can debug using MIOS studio.

I hooked the SID module up to the Core and using MIOS studio downloaded the sid test tone app to the core, but don't really get any output.  I believe it is there, but very quiet. Using a mic amp with 75 dB's of gain you can hear a tone, albeit with a lot of noise :D and I'm certain it isn't power supply whine or oscillation as it goes away with just MIOS running with no app.  Is there a common problem with dead 8580's giving very quiet outputs?  I'm not sure the best way to test it - when I run the interconnection test does sending different mod wheel values to the core change the states of the SID address and data pins (i.e. the parallel outputs of the shift registers)?!

Secondly, I'm having big problems re-compiling my SID app but I'll go post that in the right place :)

Cheers TK for a great project

David

Firstly, hello everyone, I'm a newbie here..

Welcome aboard!

Secondly, after much cogitation and listening to the awesome sounds of the elektron sidstation...

mbSID kicks the shit out of a SIDstation ;-)