Should I bother with MidiBox?

Bigga

Hi All,

For a while I've been thinking about a project to accompany my DJ setup.

I want to build a box to trigger samples from a custom app on my laptop (currently in development). The box should have 32 buttons with an led for each (to indicate the sample is playing) plus a volume control for each sample (led rings on pots would be lovely!). Additionaly an LCD panel to display which sample is currently playing.

I know you can do some amazing things with MidiBox but is the above the sort f project that would be realisable with MidiBox? Is there a simpler(!) solution or am I on the right track?

It's worth mentioning that I'm learning all the skills to do this from scratch. I have no programming knowledge so am learning VB and I have only a little electronics knowledge?

Hmm now I've written it down it does seem like a foolhardy endeavour! Then again that's me all over!

I'd appreciate your comments, thanks.

Sounds quite do-able. How do you plan an sending the sample name to the midibox? Or will you program the name into the midibox from the user interface?

You should have a look around the links up the top of this page ;)

I have no idea how I plan on achieving this though. If there are no straightforward ways of doing it. I planned to use a usb LCD panel and incorporate the functions for it in the software.

I've had a good read of the wiki. Aside from the LCD functionality is the rest of it doable? is 64e the right version to use for this?

Thanks for your help.

Well, an LED to show which sample is playing may or may not be doable.  If you're talking about using the buttons to start AND stop samples, then yes, you could have an LED show that the sample was started but not stopped.

But if you are triggering one-shot samples in your laptop from a MIDIbox, the MIDIbox has no way of knowing how long the samples are, so the LED's on/off status would be meaningless.