How many SID Chips, and wich ones

Sinfourmusic

Hey guys (and girls??)

First of all, i'm a total noob to this.. so be patient :)

I'm new to this forum, but been a fan of Midibox Sid for to long without doing anything about it..

I'm a music producer witin the EDM genre, more specific Progressive trance/breaks/House and Techno. I use mostly software, as you can get everything you need. Bought QuadraSID from REFX some yars ago, but i feel that its not eenogh for me... Now i want to build my own MidiBox SID (with a lot of help of course).

I'm always been a fan of commodore 64 games and music, and i have 4 commodore 64s. And i guess (since they all work and have sound) the Sid chips works, but have no idea wich SID Chip is in wich commodore, and i guess there could be lots of different ones... those commodores i have was bought in 1982-83 and one in 1984. Is it only MOS 6581 wich is mostly used in Midiboxes, or does it matter at all? :)

I'm guessing i can use 1 chip to generate sound, but i also guess, more chips = more features/options?

I can't wait to get this project started, but I have no deadline, so hopefully this will be learning by doing over time.

All replies will be appreciated :)

//Sinfour

www.soundcloud.com/sinfour

Welcome aboard! (I dont think there are any gurrrls here, maybe smithy :turned: )

There are 3 different chips that are consider "SID" chips and the midibox SID is compatible with all of them:

6581: Original chip in C64. Bunch of revisions of this, bit noisey, "flawed", 12V powered (the MBsid has be built accordingly, it has options for both)

8580: Later, revised SID used in C64C and 128 machines. Improvement to chip, now 9VDC powered

6582: What the 8580 evolved into (identical), used in add-on sound devices

They all have similar sounds and features, the controls will be the same for all.

Right now, you have 3 options as far as building one goes:

1) Contact Wilba and get on the sammichSID wait list (complete kit)