Goom STM32F4 USB Problems

Hi All,

I hope this is considered the correct part of the forum for this. I am a novice midi to MIDI and a general tinkerer. Not much of a musician either....

I saw the Goom Synth build on the STM32F4 and thought it looked like good cheap fun. I have managed to procure the board, install MIOS32 and upload the synth "project.hex" without too much stress.

I don't have a good way of playing the synth (no keyboard ATM) so long term I wanted to try using an old Motorola Xoom as a touch interface, similar to "ttfshtt" or "AVLG". Currently I have managed to connect to the tablet using the Cntrlr interface created by "Synthy" (for which I am very grateful) on both Win7 & Ubuntu Studio.

All the above was done with two USB cables attached which is a bit of a pain, so I tried the PA9 to 5V trick. Although the board appears to power up, I don't get the pulsing LED LD4, and LD1 (Com) flashes instead of being solid red. By accident I have just discovered that if I plug in CN1 temporarily whilst CN5 and the jumper are in place, I can get the board to boot.

Interestingly, it is more complex than just getting power on the CN1. If I plug the board into USB power block  whilst connected to my laptop on CN5, it won't boot. I needs a laptop USB to trigger the board (hope that makes sense).

Has anyone experienced this and have a cure? it is a pain at the moment, and I would like to try playing with MIDI commander on either my Samsung Galaxy, or Motorola Xoom as a control interface. (currently I have managed to at least see the Goom in MIDI commander with my Galaxy and a USB OTG cable).

The board I bought from Farnell is the "STM32F407G-DISC1" which seems to be an updated (but I can't tell how) version of the STM32F407.

Any thoughts appreciated.

First of all, Welcome :) Good to have you here.