controlling an analogue Ross Phaser by MIDI

Guest chris.pickett

Guest chris.pickett

Hi,

I think this is the right forum for this kind of question ...

I would like to build a Ross Phaser

http://www.runoffgroove.com/ross3.html

but modify the design so that I can control it with CC's (or even NRPN's for smoother resolution).  I don't think the guitar people can help me with this.

Can the MIDIBox software and chip help me do this?

I guess I need some way to take a MIDI signal and control a knob or button (does it need to be converted to CV first?  In which case am I better off buying a MIDI-->CV converter and then worrying about interpreting a CV signal?)

I've never done this kind of thing before, and actually I won't even be the one building it, but I'm designing it.  My brother is going to build it at school, so I can communicate with him if there's problems.  I have some first year college experience with circuits, and don't mind learning.

So ... I'll read FAQ's and tutorials and stuff if this is already covered somewhere before, but I wanted to check that I'm asking in the right place -- because I'm not sure I even need MIDIBox at all (maybe it would be more appropriate to manage a stompbox or something).

I would be extremely grateful if someone could let me know where to get started on this, whether it's possible or whatever.  Ultimately I'd like to build a whole bunch of analogue effects and have them completely controllable by MIDI and have the order of the effects switchable.  Of course I'll make any designs available so that other people can build similar things once it works.

Cheers,

Chris Pickett

P.S.  Of course it would be nice if the controls on the phaser sent MIDI as well ...

Hi Chris,

this is one of the easiest jobs what a MIOS core can do... ;-)

The current MIDIbox 64 already provides 64 CV inputs and 8 CV Outs. 64 CV Outs are planned (I'm waiting for some ordered sample&hold chips to test this possibility).