New to Electronics, a couple questions

Guest Gurgalax

Guest Gurgalax

I want to begin by first thanking every single one of you involved in this edeavour and a very big thanks to Thorsten Klose for the drive to do all this and SmashTv for the great  PCB's and kits.

I am new to electronics and this is my first project(first soldering, first digital multimeter, first everything...heheh). I have successfully built the core module and tested the connections with a multimeter (4.98 VDC on everything using a 9V 500milliamps wall plug). I have yet to multimeter the completed SID module.

Some questions I have:

1. Do I only install the bootstrap software on the PIC and then upload the MIOS and SID software through MIDI. Or do I program the PIC with MIOS and the SID software, or do I just program the PIC with the SID software?

2. How does one setup the contrast rotary(is it a rotary thats used?) for the LCD screen. Do I have to setup a button(rotary?) for the backlight and how does one make such connections?

3. Does anyone have experience using the CK1710 USB Flash PIC programmer from www.electronickits.com? I just want to make sure that I installed the bootstrap loader correctly and that I understand how to use the program in setting the chip ID.

Thanks for the help.

Some suggestions I have for SmashTV's PCB's is that the SID core needs to have J2 a little further from the IC1, and the MHB Core needs to have more space between IC1 and J10...this is for easier interfacing utilizing 8 pin ribbon cables. Additionally, the SID module requires more distancing between the capacitor gaps to make them sit flush with the PCB.

Suggestions for the Webmaster: a note is needed stating that the core module and sid module schematics differ from smashtv's schematics and that for purchasers of smashtv's kits should utilize the revised data on smashtvs website.