Resistor, what is what??

Guest analouge

Guest analouge

Hi all u guys!

I know this is probably a VERY lame question to ask, but I'm gonna do it anyway :D.

I am no expert with electronic design or something, but I have experience with building both pretty complicated stuff (from schematics) and less complicated things that I designed myself..

But as I read through these pages I constantly run into the word "pull-up resistor". Here's the deal. I think I understand why they need to be there, but I have never heard the word before... So... The lame question... I just wondered if a pull-up resistor is exactly the same thing as an ordinary resistor (I mean - the same component)...? Or is it a different component? If so, can someone tell me a little about it?

Hey, I know it's a lame question - but if you can't ask, you won't learn... ;)

Have Fun

Ingebret

Guest analouge

Thanks...!

I thought I knew a little something about electronic design, but I admit I ran into a corner and stood there and blushed when I saw the title on the site I found: "Very basic circuits"  ;D HAHA.

Anyway - thanks for the assistance. I'm the type of guy that needs to understand everything completely before I'm satisfied :). But when I think of it I should really understood it by looking at the pages around this site and I should at least understand it when I saw the schematics :P.

Have Fun!

well... to be honest - i dont understand 99% of how any of these work. electronically-wise. but it's so well-documented that it's really easy to build so i'm getting somewhere already. but i'm that type of person that's used to searching for general topics info on the net and i guess that helps me quite a bit. and i've learned many things about electronic circuits so far (starting from ZERO)

so - all's good and we'll all build midiboxes and have fun during the process. AND when they're finished ;)

Guest analouge