newbee traktor mixer

verbel

hey  Im new in this stuff  but i wanted to make midi mixer to cope with traktor couze Hercules DJ controller is too expensive. I have made simple front panel : midimixer.jpg

Few questions. About faders.. their shuld me stereo or mono  or make no difference? about roll pontenciometers well i gues their are just simple ones(stereo or mono), similar buttons.  for that i will need just  MBHP_CORE, MBHP_AIN  and MBHP_USB or midi-to-com  right ? and propably MBHP_BURNER?

thx for replys

verbel

Hi Verbel,

pay attention for the faders, there are different ones! For audio applications, they normaly have a logarithmic output curve, but such a characteristic is absolutely unusable for MIDI. Especially stereo faders are only for audio, so it should be a mono fader with 10k linear output (it's not possible to convert log->linear properly!). For the buttons look for "normaly open" types, it doesn't matter, how many poles they have, but single pole buttons are normaly cheaper.

Required Modules: MBHP_CORE, MBHP_AINX4 (for faders/pots) and MBHP_DINX4 (for buttons).

MBHP_USB isn't really cheaper than a commercial MIDI interface today, and this project is especially not easy to handle for newbies, therefore just buy an interface for less than 40 EUR

Or take the MBHP_LTC module for the to-COM option

MBHP_BURNER: not required if you buy the PIC at SmashTV's or Mike's Shop, they will program the bootstrap loader into the flash. But you need to tell them, if the to-COM baudrate should be enabled or not, because this option cannot be easily changed via MIDI

Best Regards, Thorsten.

And just a little thing about those faders, pots or encs (I am building a Traktor controller, too, at the moment).  Especially when we're talking about a controller for real live-stuff (e.g. a DJ controller) only get good components! I highly recommend ALPS (for all - faders, pots or encs). They're normally a bit more expensive - but it's reallyreallyreally worth it!