Simple controller for Pro-Tools M-powered - which way to go?

Dunewar

Hello people,

This is my first post here, and my first attempt to build a midibox. My aim is to build a mixing controller for pro-tools M-powered. Ergonomics are more important than features in my book, and I don't like menu's and double functions for buttons/sliders etc...

I would like faders, mute/solo/REC buttons, pan control and send controls (minimum 2), and transport buttons. that is the minimum, anything above that is nice.

My first question is this : can I build a MB64 to control Pro-tools or does it have to be a MB LC? Seems like PT is very picky about controlling it?

I don't like swapping banks over and over, so I'd prefer 16 faders in front of me instead of 8. I was thinking non-motorized for several reasons : this is my first time doing this, so I might want to start simple, and of course cost. I rarely use more then 16 channels (never have, come to think of it) in pro-tools. Of course, it would have to be 16 + 1 master fader. The idea is to work on a mix from beginning to finish in one go with a nice big desk-like work surface in front of me.

When looking at more advanced functions, the following intrigue me : knobs for controlling EQ-plugin parameters per channel (or switchable per channel) and a scrub wheel. Am I missing any obvious points?

Anymore hints and tips for a beginner (other then read through the entire forum...)?

hi dunewar

welcome to uCapps and the forum

it seems like you have a more clear view of what you want than me and my neverending development of multitasking brainstorming trash collected projects so just go ahead !! you have my blessing

simone

don t really know about PT so i can t help with that

Welcome aboard  :D

Unforunatly your options are rather limited, as digidesign are very closed in what control surfaces they support. Currently digi only officially support their own controllers, though unofficially a few 3rd party controllers are supported.