My first PCBs, need connection help.

Bassman

So I got my first CORE, DIN & DOUT today, yeah!

But, naturaly as a newbie, I am confused.

I assembled the boards ok, thanks to SmashTVs excellent documentation and pictures, otherwise I'd be stumped.

But on my R5 DIN, J1 must connect to CORE J9. J1 on the DIN is a 10 pin header whilst J9 on the CORE is half of a 10 pin header i.e. 5 pins. Also on my R5 DOUT, J1 connects to CORE J8. J1 on the DOUT is a 10 pin header whilst J8 on the CORE is half of a 10 pin header i.e. 5 pins. What needs to be connected here?

There is also mention of CORE J6 & J7 to be used if conditions apply. If I just want buttons and LEDs, do I ignore J6 & J7 on the CORE?

I'm also curious why CORE J7 & J8 are not a together and similarly J9 & J6, as 10 pin headers.

R5 DIN shows J3, J4, J5, J6 as digital input lines with 8 lines and a Vs. The wiring diagram for 32 buttons (mbhp_dinx4_32buttons.pdf), shows J3 thru J10, each with 4 lines and a Vs connected to buttons, an R2 version I guess? Do I assume J3 (D4-D7) & J4 (D0-D3) on the wiring diagram are D0 thru D7 on J3 in the R5 DIN? Similarly, J5 (D4-D7) & J6 (D0-D3) on the wiring diagram are D0 thru D7 on J4 in the R5 DIN, etc.?

Thanks

Keith

Uh.........ok, I found the answer to my CORE to DIN and DOUT question at Smash. I see the new boards are made to carry the SI or SO through for easy DIL connection. It wasn't obvious, but fortunately I can trace a PCB track.

I will assume that smash has also changed the DIN input lines to DIL for easier connection.

I see that the real wizzkid (not a reflection on age Smash  ;D) is at SmashTV. He obviously has 30 hours in his days. How does he do it? I think he deserves MUCH more credit and thanks!

So THANKS SMASH!

Keith