Hammond Regent 4172 MIDIfication project

^Gecko^

Hey

I'm pretty new to the world of organs, and totally new to this forum. I really have no idea how to play an organ. My grandmother passed away last year and I now have the organ, which is a Hammond Regent 4172. Everything works on it as far as I know, but it hisses like crazy; probably oxidized contacts on the board connectors.

I want to MIDIfy this thing. All I see are complaints about how awful this organ is, but I've always liked it since I was a child. It's not a requirement to keep the original sound working, but that would be a bonus. So I've been looking around at different methods to accomplish this, and so far MIDIbox seems like the cheapest and easiest way to go about hooking everything up. I don't have the organ at hand (just a picture) so I'm probably not going to buy any parts until I get home in a couple of months. I would like to know if the manuals are matrix wired or individual (same for the pedals and stop tabs.) There are a few features I have no idea how to add, like the percussion section, and that weird slider thing between the manuals. It also has a built in leslie, which is controlled by one of the stop tabs I believe.

I wonder if I could also use MIDI to control the original electronics for recorded playback.

Here's what I can make out from my picture; I figure I can use LEDs to show the status of the stop tabs, regardless of which position they're in. Motor/solenoid control on the tabs would be cool but I think that might be too difficult.

Here's a picture of it, and following is a list of what I assume are all of the connections;

IMG_7345.JPG

49 tabs

61 swell

61 great

25 pedal

volume pedal

5+1 piston radio buttons

slider thing + toggle

16 percussion radio buttons

6 percussion toggles

percussion on/off

pistons led

2 other toggles

tempo pot

2 other pots

4 or 5 position rotary switch

4 illuminated pushbuttons (A B C D)

2 red and 1 amber led