Some questions about building a SeqV4

jumpatron

Hello everyone,

I've been looking into building a Midibox SeqV4. I've built some DIY synths in the past (the common ones) so I think I'm up to the task. Still, I'm a newbie in many areas so I have a few questions regarding building the thing:

To build a Midibox like the one shown on the main website I need to get these parts?:

PCBs:

- CoreLPC17 Module PCB (from Smash's shop)

- SEQ CS PCB (from Smash's shop once they are available)

- Quad IIc_MIDI PCB (from Smash's shop)

Chips and microcontrollers:

- LPCXPRESSO (from embeddedartists)

- 4 x PIC16F88 (from Smash's shop)

Basic parts:

Encoders, buttons from Digikey/Mouser/wherever

Resistors, LEDs etc. from Reichelt (or from Digikey/Mouser/wherever if it comes to same price (customs...))

2x LCDs (will any brand of LCD do?)

SD Card

To make things easier:

parts kit for CoreLPC17(from Smash's shop) (long wait time?)

parts kit for Quad IIc_MIDI PCB(from Smash's shop) (long wait time?)

Case:

Order one somewhere

The second thing regards customization. If I were a pro, I would want to build a SeqV4 with a small 2-octave xoxbox-style keyboard with LEDs that show which notes are being played in the current step. It would have octave up and down buttons (with leds indicating which one is active) + rest, slide and accent buttons + last and next step buttons. Although frankly just the keyboard with leds would be great. The keys would be the same buttons used everywhere else on the front panel, just turned vertically (I can paint the black ones white if they don't sell white versions).

Of course the problem is I'm not a pro and I don't know how I would go about making this, because I don't know how to code or to make PCBs. So if it were a quick and easy task (probably not) I would ask someone on the forum to help me make this. If it's not easy for someone to impliment then I'm happy to "just" make a basic SeqV4.

Thank you for your time.