Feature Request: MIDI Learn on-the-fly

FantomXR

Hey all!

As I'm working as a live musician I know the instruments of NORD very well. What I like most is the learn-function. It works like this:

On top of the keyboard you have three buttons which are labeled with "Wheel", "A.Touch" and "CTRLPED". Let's say that the cutoff of the synth is at 50% and the volume is at 100%. What you want now is to change the cutoff to 100% and the volume to 80% (cause the sounds get's louder if you turn up the cutoff) by moving the modulation wheel. What you do is, press the button "Wheel" and while you keep it pressed you turn the volume down and the cutoff up. By releasing the button, the parameters are assigned and you are finished.

This function is very nice to have and gives the user the chance to change multiple parameters in one move. 

It seems not that easy to implement. But maybe you have a nice idea to do so :)

Anyway: We see us next year!

Thanks,

Chris

Hi Chris,

a MIDI learn mode is implemented, did you already try it out?

It can be enabled from the SCS menu, or alternatively with a meta event assigned to a dedicated button.

See also http://www.ucapps.de/midibox_ng_manual_ngc.html, search for "MidiLearn"

It learns the CC (or optionally a NRPN) + the value range - as suggested.

It doesn't allow to learn multiple MIDI events for the same control element, instead the first assignment will be replaced by the learnt one.

If learning multiple events is mandatory, we've to think about the best strategy how to do this.

Best Regards, Thorsten.

Hey TK,

at first: Happy new year!

I already read about the MIDI learn function, which is already implemented. But from the NGC-Manual it's not really clear to me, what it does exactly.

Let's break it down: We have one encoder, one wheel and one button. The button is for MIDI learn the wheel (same like on the nord I explained above). How would I now change the value of the encoder with the wheel in conjunction with NG?