Motorfaders and touch sensors..?

gvink

Maybe a stupid question but... there is no such thing as a stupid question.. Am I right..

:P I'm just a newbie... :P

I'd just like to know what the actual difference is (besides price) between motorfaders inc touch sensors, and motorfaders without them...?!?

Is it only that it "recognises" the touch of a fader (so without moving it..)..

So it is also possible to use faders without the touch sensor and make select buttons for each channel/fader..?

Thanks  ;D

In 95% of all cases touchsensors on MFs are used to stop them. Imagine following: You just recorded some fade out of an audio line. The first part is good, but you wrecked the end. Now you don´t want to record the whole part again.

With touch sensor the MF recognizes the touch and stops it´s movement and you can record the second part again (on the fly). Without this you would have to record the whole fade again or just go right inside the point you want to enter and push record and move the fader simultanously.

With touch sensor everything is much more ergonomic.

My MF's dont have TS and they work just fine, TS would be nice but..... you can just attach a button next to the fader to disengage also the software (not sure if its on all versions) has a built in fix when you move a fader by hand for 0.5 or something seconds it automatically switches the fader off..... not real good for the life of the fader but doubt it would make much diff

If you can afford touch sensor get it if not no worries!

Thanks guys!

I already thought it had to be something like this.. Now I know for sure..!

Think I'm going to order some stuff in the next few days...   8)

Just one small question..

How many pic's would I need to control 17 motorfaders?

(and 128 buttons/leds?)

Thanks  :-*