Lots of newbie questions - curiously however a little helpless

Compyfox

Uhm... hi.

Sorry about this little noobish question galore, but I'm kinda new to this whole topic and I'm one of those who wants to triple check anything before I start working on something (or try to egt a new "toy" for my homestudio). I've heard the first time of MIDIbox SID while having a topic about "videogame synths" in one of the communities I regulary go to (namely Overclocked Remix). Before that I heard of the SIDstation (which is way over my pricerange, 930+Euro) and the QuadraSID (VSTi). But personally I prefer something that I can touch, has a warm sound through analog cables (it's just not the same as a VSTi), etc... Or short said "that looks good in a 19" rack".

Well... I read myself a bit through the manuals how to build a MIDIbox SID, but then again I'm totally lost. It's not the problem with soldering (I'm a trained communication electronics engineer, however a bit out of practice), more like the english manual (which shouldn't be that big of a problem if I read carefully and I'm actually "not" tired or something). But the thing that scares me off the most though, is the thing with "more SID chips and tweaking knobs". This is where my brain simply shuts down.

Okay... what I have in mind as "custom SID synth" is the following:

- 19" rack 1HE

- would be nice if I have a power on/off button in front with a power supply that is built into the 19" rack, but not necessary

- good if I have 4 tweaking knobs for attack, decay, cutoff, resonance

- LCD is not needed unless I'm too lazy to fire up my PC and use the VSTi tool from S.M. (rare)

Looks like this is the "minimal setup" with a custom control device, right?

BUT... there is another problem...