Is this possible?

architeq

Hello there, I am relativly to the world of making Midi Controllers... Basically, I am a producer but there's nothing that is as simple as I want on the market with a half decent build quality to meet my needs for a midi controller.

Basically I have (roughly) designed what I want and I was just wondering if this sort of design is possible with the Midibox system...?

Here's a link to the rough plan's...

Basically the controls required are http://www.geocities.com/architeq_band/samsmidicontroller.jpg

9x Faders (100mm)

48x Knobs

8x Buttons (not on plans)

2x VU Meters based on Master Output from Ableton Live (Possible!?!?!)

samsmidicontrollersmall.jpg

Hi,

the link to the .jpg file doesn't work. However, from the specs this seems to be a simple and good working configuration. Not sure about the VU meters, but from my experience transmitting them via MIDI is not accurate enough, better to build a analog circuit here

Best Regards, Thorsten.

The VU meter should be build analog, there are many circuits to find with google to build. Not so difficult.

About your box, you will need 2 AIN4X (48 + 9 = 57 => 7 non-used pins), and NO DIN4X module (you can stuff 8 buttons on the core directly, right? (not sure)).

I would advise you to implant some cool stuff, like a joystick (4 inputs) for effects or something like that. It would be a shame if you don't use the 7 analoge inputs that are left free at this moment.

(in firefox) right click on the link & save it, ive managed to see it. actually hang on i'll rehost it....

sorry i cant seem to display it, it opens on my computer but not when i host it. strange.

looks cool though, what program will you be using it with?

I'll be using it with Ableton Live... It's the best sequencing software for the music I make (www.myspace.com/architeq) and the easiest as far as assigning Midi to hardware is concerned...