a new mbsid is close to life...

b-funk

this is my first post. therefor: hello everybody!!!

first of all i´d like to say that this whole project is such a great thing, i´m really impressed. seriously.

when i came along to this site, i was on the search for a sequencer-diy-project, with comparable abilities to the "schrittmacher", but affordable.

that´s how i found ucapps. while skipping through the projects, i´ve soon been attracted by the mbsid - lovely. i already used prophet64 (the software version) and had a closer look to the prophet64 cartridge. but it didn´t match my needs. i need knobs and buttons, no mouse and keyboard-shortcuts to rerach the parameters.

so i soon decided to build a mbsid first, then the sequencer, as the sequencer seems to be a little bit more complex. i´m not a total newbie to soldering, and i do have a slight idea about electronics - i modified some old drummachines in the past which work pretty well. also can i read schematics.

but i never did such a big project. so i thought for practising, the mbsid looks perfect. it will heöp me to understand mios and the ideology behind all of this.

so i started to read and read and read and... finally ordered the pcb-kit at mike´s.

i´m going to build a full control-surface sid, for the beginning with just one sid/core, but when all works well, i will expand it to the maximum. should be no problem, because in the meantime i cannibalised a few c64 and do now have 8 sid6581 in different revisions. that should be enough.

while waiting for the pcbs i built the optimised psu, which i awaited to be a bigger problem, but it works how it should... thanks to the really good advises here in the forum.

so right when the pcbs arrived, i unpacked them and started soldering. that was 3 days ago, and now the core, the sid, the bankstick, the 3 din and the 2 dout modules are ready. and after some first voltage measurements they seem to work how they should. but i have to check them more precisely.