Questions on MIDIBox64

DJSail

Hi everybody! I'm new to the world of MIDIBoxing and pretty much the same can be said about the world of electronics!

I'm thinking of building a MIDIBox64 to control Sonar 5/6 (MIDIBoxes do work with SONAR don't they?!) I'm hoping to have 16 channel strips each with 1 fader, 2 pots and 3 buttons and LED's (some questions on this after). I'm hoping to a nice job of it and have it just as I want: but before I can do that there are a few questions I would be grateful if anyone could answer!

1:How advanced does my programming knowledge need to be?

2:How important are leds? And how hard are they to integrate?

3:Does the LCD contrast pot count as 1 pot out of the 64?

4:Are any buttons specifically locked to the menu system on the MIDIBox if so how many?

5:Can anybody point me in the right direction for buttons on Digikey UK?

6:How hard would it be to programme a rotary encoder to change the BPM or generally scroll?

I would be grateful if anyone could answer any of these questions, even if you only know the answer to 1 I woudl still be grateful for that!

Thanks!

Dan

Hi everybody!

Welcome aboard!

MIDIBoxes do work with SONAR don't they?!

Sure do.

1:How advanced does my programming knowledge need to be?

For what you described, nearly zero - provided you don't mind reading instructions and following them precisely :)

2:How important are leds? And how hard are they to integrate?

Depends on what you need, but it's easy to do.

3:Does the LCD contrast pot count as 1 pot out of the 64?

(Good question) no it doesn't.

4:Are any buttons specifically locked to the menu system on the MIDIBox if so how many?

Tutorial It pays to read lots around here ;)

5:Can anybody point me in the right direction for buttons on Digikey UK?

That will depend on your front panel design, but you want single pole, normally open/momentary on switches.

6:How hard would it be to programme a rotary encoder to change the BPM or generally scroll?