core module not working

ashd

hi, i recently built a core module which does nothing on start up, the voltage seems to be right in all places, the pic was preburned with mios v1.9c, but when i turn the power on all that happens is the backlight switches on, i get nothing over midi and no characters on screen.

i'm a newbie when it comes to this stuff, so i'm not really sure what to do, i did notice that apart from the lcd backlight turning on, IC3 (7805?) and the back of the lcd gets very hot

any suggestions/help would be appreciated...

thanks

ash

so are there no components that i could replace to solve it,or should i just start again and build another one?

also after buying a new multimeter rather tahn using the one i was (which is quite probably older than me), it seems that the voltage is actually around about 1.7 where it should be 5v...

do you use a 9V PSU?

Sounds to me like your 7805 is broken. solder it out and check the incoming voltage. Should be between 7V and 10V. (In the case your using a 9V psu its surely 9V). then solder a new 7805 in your core and measure for shorts.  no shorts ==> test again

greetz

the voltage on the psu is adjustable, and is set to about 7.5v

Should be enough, but with a backlighted lcd 9V is the better choice I think.

The polarity matters a lot! Look at the pictures on this site and you see the right direction.

greetz

Should be enough, but with a backlighted lcd 9V is the better choice I think.

when the PSU can deliver 7.5V, there´s no reason to use 9V. You´d just get even more heat on the regulator.