Hi,

I'm building a MCU type controller and I'm starting to design some PCB's for the various modules.

I'm planning to share them here so other users can use them if they want, if that's ok.

The first and simplest one is an 8xOLED carrier board to connect to J15A of the STM32F4 core.

Initial tests on a breadboard with 2 screens work fine.

It is my first time using Kicad and also designing a 2-layer board, so I'd like to get some feedback before sending them to the fab house.

• OLED's are 0.96'' SSD1306 4-wire SPI type
  • Mechanically the OLED's are plugged into 1x7 sockets
  • Each 'channel' is exactly 1.1 inch wide. It leaves a little wiggle room between the screens,
    and should allow the case too be quite compact 
  • I remember seeing another schematic with added 100nF decoupling caps, but they're not on Thorsten wiring diagram,
    so I'm wondering if I should add those

NOTE: I'm going to extend the board to avoid having the holes running under the OLED's.

oled_back.jpg

oled_front.jpg

oled_pcb_top.png

oled_pcb_bottom.png

oled_schematic.png

ssd1306_test.jpg

Posted (edited)
15 hours ago, Phatline said:

i think you will need a the cap and resistor on reset for every display (they told me...dont know if necessery)

Thanks, but are you sure ? I distinctly remember reading @TK. saying only one is needed, at least for 8.

It looks like a simple RC cell, and I don't think the current drain on the Reset pin would alter the time constant.

Edited by Lorcan
Mention Thorsten

On another note, I looked at current consumptions of various OLED's,

and according to this page, a 128x64 0.96” can pull 21mA at max contrast with all pixels lit.

As the STM32F4 board docs state, the integrated 3.3V regulator can only supply 100mA max.

I wonder if problems some people were having with multiple OLED's might be related to that.

So to be on the safe side and to avoid heating the poor little SMD IC,

I'm going to add an optional on-board 3.3V regulator or input.