My mb-6581 build - resistors on base pcb

Blatboy

Greetings. I received my mb-6582 base pcb kit from smashtv a couple weeks back, and have finally gotten a chance to get started. Am hoping to get this done in time for a concert ive got booked in late may. This being said, I'm no expert yet at these builds, and I'm not gonna rush things too much as I'm hoping it'll actually work.

This being said, I do have a quick question regarding the base pcb.

10K resistors R3_SID1 and R23_SID1 (actually for all four Sid modules) seem to have very little room between the holes for the leads. If I try to put them in, it's seems they will block the entrance for J2_SID1 or potentially short w another component. Or is a situation where I just twist it in a way that avoids all these things? Perhaps I'm doing something really stupid here so I thought I would chime in before I soldered them in...

Thanks!

Some boards are designed so that the resistors stand up on one end. Usually this is to save space. Using Google I quickly found these two images as examples:

resistors2.jpg

700S2-CV-680R-4.JPG

Theoretically, resistors mounted in a "stand up" fashion like these may be slightly more prone to developing intermittent solder joints due to vibration, but in practice the difference is mainly cosmetic. LOTS of boards have resistors mounted in this way.

If you don't want to mount your resistors like this, you can use smaller resistors, but you must observe the wattage rating. Miniature resistors are 1/4 watt resistors in a 1/8 watt package. I used them on my MB-6582.

I'm attaching a shot of the miniature resistors like the ones I used in my MB-6582 (but the shot is from a different project). Click the image below to see what I'm talking about.

post-3554-0-57727900-1333544909_thumb.jp

Edited by nebula

Nebula,

Thanks so much. You rock. I totally get it now.