questions about using CV/Gate on sid

chinard

Helloooo

I'm just getting started building my first generation of midibox/sid and i have a question in regards to using voltage control with external devices.

My setup in my studio is starting to accumulate alot of analog machines including some moog stuff and a korg MS-20.

I've been looking through the archives and i've seen alot of promising talk about people that built their own moog LP filter and have it working off the envelope control from the sid.  Amazing project, but i've already got a moog filter (moogerfooger) so i'd like to figure out how to use that.

From what i can see, it appears that alot of the DIN and DOUT modules use the +/- 5v standard which looks like it can control an external aparatus like a moogerfooger LP filter, or even a set of korg MS-20 HP/LP filters.  This could even work for external modulation like with using the MS-20's freq~v converter and envelope follower.

I've also seen that there is a midibox project for creating a CV gate so it looks like alot of the groundwork is already done here.

I'm curious how one would go about wiring the CV inputs and outputs for something like this, and most importantly doing it in a way that would not impede the existing design.

Another thing i'm wondering is since one of my external CV sources/destinations would be an MS-20 which is Hz/V instead of V/Octave, how i would be able to bridge between the two standards.  (I believe the midibox is V/Octave much like the rest of the planet)

Hi;

From what i can see, it appears that alot of the DIN and DOUT modules use the +/- 5v standard which looks like it can control an external aparatus "

din/dout modules don't work on +/-5V just +5V, they are not suitable for generating control voltages (the dout module can be used for putting out (drum) triggers though); BUT the aout module (and the upcoming low cost aout module) are perfect for cv's and gates;