Which Pic?

jimh54

I'm new at MidiBox so forgive me if I've overlooked the obvious. Of the many projects on Midibox/ucapps I cannot find any obvious answers to the question of which Pic chip works best with which project. I know there are some differences between the 18f452, 18f4620,and 18f4685. So how can I find out which Pic works best with which project? There is a reference that the 18f4685 is best for the MB-6582 SID project, but how about the OPL-3, and other ones?

I know this is likely posted in the wrong place. So feel free to move it to the correct place.

Thanks

A nice outlook for the future is, that Microchip still considers pin compatible devices. The MBHP started with a PIC16F877, in the meantime PIC18F452 is used, and for memory intensive projects like MIDIbox SEQ V3 or MIDIbox SID V2 the PIC18F4620/PIC18F4685. So long this upgrade path is given, a switch to another microcontroller family (like Atmel devices) with all it's advantages, but also disadvantages, is not required, and hard/software compatible applications can still be expected in the next years.

from the uCapps site concerning the core module.

I see that I have not asked the correct question. The bottom line question is; can I use the latest processor as a substitute for most, if not all, of the projects? They are pin compatible but are the internal differences enough to cause concern? The Microchip website says specifically NOT to use the PIC18F452 for current or future projects. That indicates to me they are likely to discontinue it. Are the differences in the newer ones significant enough to matter? Since the price difference is small, I would rather use the most capable one. That would be the PIC18F4685.

Thanks for all of the most polite and patient responses.