midi transpose code

technobreath

Yo, it's been a while since I was wondering what subforum to put a thread in, but this might be the best place for it.

I'm planning a "simple" box, 4 midi i/o - a prosessor - that simply transposes the incomming midinotes on a midi input. Either globally over all 4 midi ports or one by one.

I'm no coder, but as far as I understand I can use the LPC stuff I have laying around on my workbench (for ages now) for this. My question is really nothing more than:

Where do I go looking to find code examples relevant to what the box is supposed to do?

If the box is small in size, I'll have some select buttons, a LCD and an encoder on it. If it turns out it has to be bigger, I'll include buttons for selecting a tuning directly (that will be -12 to +12 semitones) instead of having to turn the encoder for each step, tho this is also a fast solution. Some LEDs will go with the buttons too for status indication besides the info from the LCD.

Anyway, this is a rather simple and boring project for being a midibox, but feel free to give me ideas :P hehe.

Hola TB :-)

Maybe look into the MBSEQ v4 code - i find it is very readable and contains "on the fly" transposing.

And then dig into some of the MIOS32 coding examples, this should get you going regarding MIDI input + output and switch control :-)

Many greets from cold south-of-munich :)

Peter

Yo, look no further, you´ll find the live transpose code in

seq_core.c within function SEQ_CORE_Transpose(...)

In the end it is as easy as adding the given number of halftones (inc_semi) and octaves (inc_oct) to the incoming note:

// apply transpose octave/semitones parameter
  if( inc_oct ) {
    note += 12 * inc_oct;
    if( inc_oct < 0 ) {  
      while( note < 0 )  
   note += 12;
    } else {  
      while( note >= 128 )
   note -= 12;
    }
  }  

if( inc_semi ) {
    note += inc_semi;
    if( inc_semi < 0 ) {
      while( note < 0 ) 
   note += 12;
    } else {  
      while( note >= 128 )