MBFM Sound trigger note issues

Echopraxia

I got my MBFM fired up and have to say the sounds this things make are wonderful.

I am having a problem with the whole unit though.

I can play any where from 1 to 5 notes and they will play fine but then I get a very different note usually much higher at about the 3-6 note played. I have played with the LFOs and have the desired results but if I try to mess with certain attacks on different pages the unit goes crazy as well. When I turn on the MBFM it usually starts off with the random note issue and a couple of times I got it to fire up without any issues but when I started playing with knobs I would get the craziness wacko behavior. I had the same issue with the random notes last time I made a opl3 board and core. I have a new core and new opl3 board and good chips I am pretty sure. Would your first guess be to check soldering/joint errors? Ground issue? Any guidance would be grateful.

Regards,

echo

Upload the testone app and check voltages. Especially 5V. Check across different components.

Also how long are your leads from Core to OPL3 board?

Thanks for getting back to me.

I have had no time to check anything yet but the cable from the core to the opl3 board is as small as it can be without the two boards back to back (Its only like 2 inches long)

When I last uploaded the test tone hex the test tone was working just fine. Where should I check for voltages? At the yacs and ymf? If every thing is normal with the voltages where do I go next? If I have weird voltages where should I look? I may be asking more questions than I should be but maybe you know what to do next :) I'll check voltages and soldering errors when I get a chance and report back.