tutorial LC emulation

Steven_C

Edit: Some of the links in this thread are broken (I am considering re-building my MBLC, in which case I will write up a how-to document for beginners... stay tuned!)

Note: A lot of the info on this thread is based on the MIOS8 version.

Note: I'm a noob again so please correct me if I make any mistakes! (Edited 11 April 2010)

OK guys, it is well enough time for us to commence a group assignment.... The tutorial for building a logic control emulation!!!

ok heres the first chapter...

parts required.

Basically, this project consists of a number of modules, connected together, and controlled by a main module, called "The Core Module" or "Core" for short. You can find instructions on Thorsten's site, on how to build each of the individual modules, links to each of the modules are in the left hand column of the www.ucapps.de page.

You will also need other parts, such as a power supply (a plugpack/wallwart is the only option I am going to reccommend, for safety reasons) of about 12V, 2A will be plenty, but you may get away with  something smaller, maybe 1500mA (1.5A), but anything less is a bit wimpy for this.

Modules required for full emulation...

one PIC18F core module

one MF module (see below)

4 DINX4 modules

3 DOUTX4 modules

Now, you will need another DOUT module for the upcoming feature that allows both LEDrings and Meters at the same time

the other main bits are (to quote Ian)

required for LC Emulation:  

MUST: one core module  

MUST: one graphical LCD or 2 * 2x40 LCDs  

WANTED: at least 8 rotary encoders  

WANTED: a scrub/jog wheel (9th encoder)  

OPTIONAL: led-rings (but values are also shown on LCD)  

WANTED: at least 32 buttons  

OPTIONAL: 32 additional buttons for 8 * solo/mute/rec/select  

OPTIONAL: 32 additional buttons for sequencer control (transport, bankswitching, etc.)  

WANTED: LEDs for the buttons in order to receive feedback from Logic