6581/8580 SID Issue

MisterCharlie

Hi!

I'm currently building a 4x 6581 and 4x 8580 SID Synth with an Atmel MCU, largely based on the MIDIBox SID. I've manage over the years to scavange 8 chips (4 of each), but now that the MIDI part is working, I'm having issues with the chips.

First of all, the 6581 sounds alot quieter than the 8580. Is this normal of my chips are busted?

Secondly, the gate on the 8580 doesnt seem to work properly... As soon as I select a waveform, the chip will start to make sound. I know I can write in the Control Register since I can mute/unmute the chip by selecting or unselecting the saw wave. But writing on the GATE bit doesnt seem to do anything... Are the registers mapped exactly the same way on both chips?

Thanks for any advice!

Charles

I am by no means an expert on this matter. But i tested my own SIDs last week with a SammichSID i borrowed from a collegue. You can sometimes hear some minute differences in volume levels between different 8580. However i have a 6581R3 and a 6581R4 and the volume level on one of those (can't remember which one) is a lot lower.

Edited by Shuriken

Secondly, the gate on the 8580 doesnt seem to work properly... As soon as I select a waveform, the chip will start to make sound. I know I can write in the Control Register since I can mute/unmute the chip by selecting or unselecting the saw wave. But writing on the GATE bit doesnt seem to do anything... Are the registers mapped exactly the same way on both chips?

I seem to recall what you trying to do was possible only on the 6581 due to a VCA bug, which made noise when turned on or off. This "feature" was later used to reproduce digitized sound. The bug was fixed in the 8580 so this functionality was lost AFAIK.

Then again I could be wrong, or I could be talking about something completely different.

Thanks for the replies guys, but I may have explained the problem wrong.

So here is what I do :