Links - Buttons & Switches

pappajackson

I've been doing lots of googling in search of the perfect illuminated button and rotary knob. I've found a few sites so I thought I share them. I'm new to midibox and it took me a while before I actually knew the right type of button or rotary to look for. For the fellow noobs, you need to 'push-to-make' buttons.

http://www.rjselectronics.com/ - a huge collection of buttons and switches, plus a nice 20x2 LCD

http://www.itwasia.com.tw/e-switch.htm#3 - more cool buttons, check out the big silver anti-vandal button!

http://www.aliceshop.com/acatalog/AliceShop_Series_A_Spares_43.html - a few fader and rotary knobs in lots of different colours.

http://www.apem.com/hardware.html - loads of buttons/switches and a few cool retro knobs

http://www.okw.co.uk/products/okw/tuning-knobs.htm - loads of knobs

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=knob&doy=1m4&source=15 - an obvious one here, but still thought it might be usefull. The calibrated and pointer pair's (about two thirds down the page)are nice.

That's all for now, hope this is handy to someone. I'll post more if I find them.

The "push-to-make" switches are also known as momentary switches, or more correctly in our case, SPST Momentary, which stands for Single Pole Single Throw. Momentary switches are those which switch on when you push them, but switch back off again when you release them - they're only 'ON' for the "moment" where you are pushing them in.

Hope that helps. It's actually something which doesn't appear to be mentioned, I should add to the wiki. Thanks for pointing it out, and for the links too :)

Oh and those anti-vandalism switches are pretty looking, but they're not designed to be easy to push (that ease of use is sacrificed in order to achieve a more solid device), and they're greatly overrated (120V,10A)... might not be the best thing for a MIDIBox...