MB_6582: is it ok to mix chip revisions?

moonk

yes, that is ok

Wikipedia has a nice article on SID revisions.

From Wikipedia:

Some of these chips are marked "CSG" ("Commodore Semiconductor Group") and the Commodore Logo, while others are marked with "MOS". This includes chips produced during the same week (and thus, receiving the same date code), indicating that at least two different factory lines were in operation during that week. The markings of chips varied by factory and even by line within a factory throughout most of the manufacturing run of the chip.

PSU Option B would allow for both the 9V and 12V SIDs. I haven't tried it myself but you can mix and match SIDs on the MB-6582. You can't on the sammichSID if memory serves.

yeap that's what i'm aiming at!

I figure it won't be difficult o 'bridge' some of the pins as directions stated. I'm a lil scared just for the facgt that i'm a beginner?

let me rephrase, i'm relatively beginner. I literally just finished my first soldering project with a x0xb0x. so i'll probably rate myself a 87% in soldering... i haven't yet tried surface mount soldering but i dont think i'll need to for this project?

thanks!!!

Err well just to be clear:

6581: 12V

6582/8580: 9V

Also, it is best to use the same revision for stereo pairs so you can put to 6581's together and two 6582 or 8580's together.

to clarify, when you say 'same revisions' are you talking about the letter and number following after 6581 "R5" ?

if thats correct, does that mean i shouldn't mix two 6581 chips that have different "R's" on em? =(

If you use the right PSU...the mb6582 allows you to set different voltages per sid socket.

that sounds intriguing... immensely..

is there a universal psu out in the market from which i can purchase?

thanks shurken.